The chair of Thermal Power Stations is one of divisions of Power Engineering faculty in university.

The chair provides two-level training in power system and automation sphere. The first step of training is a bachelor degree. The second step of training is provided in a magistracy. Then in post-graduate study is provided.

The chair has competent teaching structure. Nowadays the staff includes 7 professors, including 5 doctors of science.

The academician of the Russian Academy of Sciences, the winner of «Global Energy» prize V.Nakorjakov participates in training of post-graduate students.

The chair has four educational laboratories: «Technical thermodynamics and a heat transfer», «Hydraulics», «Heat power plants» and «Automation».

The chair has scientific laboratory on Power system Problems.

Research activities consist in modeling, working out and studying of new technologies in power and thermal engineering. The area of scientific knowledge unites thermodynamics, technics, economy and ecology. The object of research represents power installations and power plants. Research methods are methods material, energy and exergy balances.

Results of researches are published more than in 300 articles and 10 monographs.

The chair cooperation in spheres of education and sciences with Saratov State Technical University, Moscow Power Engineering Institute (Technical University), Melentiev Energy Systems Institute of the Siberian Branch of Russian Academy of Sciences,  Ulyanovsk  State Technical University, Tomsk Polytechnic University, Institute of Thermophysics of the Siberian Branch of Russian Academy of Sciences and others.

Number of visits: 3698